Der Schluss

[The End]

Well, I made it. Three months in Salzburg have come and gone, and my mind is struggling to process everything that has happened, is happening, and will happen. I stayed up until 1:30 am last night talking with people at the dorm and getting all packed and ready to go. My uncle showed up this morning at 9, we put my bags and bicycle in the car, and just left.

It’s hard to explain just how I feel about it all, but I think that many people can relate to the feeling. It hurts to leave. But the fact that it hurts is a good thing. It means that I enjoyed my time here so much that I don’t want it to end. Then there’s another part of me that is ready to come home. I’ve been away from my family and friends in the states for nearly four months, and I’m getting anxious to see them.

So in the last week, I just been experiencing random moments of realization. Sometimes I felt excited for the semester to finally be done, but then there were moments where I realized that I may never live in Salzburg again. Bittersweet would be one way to put it, but it feels a bit more complicated than one word.

There are little things and big things I’ll miss from Salzburg, but here’s a list of some of the things I will miss most:

  • Playing ultimate Frisbee with Schleudertraum (the Salzburg club team)
  • Eating 39-cent warm pretzels from Hofer
  • Seeing the fortress every single day
  • Biking along the river bike path to class
  • Seeing all of the beautiful architecture where ever I went in this city
  • Traveling to interesting cities on the weekend
  • Seeing my relatives in Germany more often
  • Eating the Austrian bread, smoked lunch meat, and Lebkuchen cookies
  • Being old enough to buy beer
  • Constantly learning and improving my German
  • Having a balcony as a part of my dorm room
  • Being surrounded by mountains

It’s the people that I will miss the most. I guess the semester is over now, though. I’m not completely sure how it has changed me just yet, but I think it has.

img_2018

[left to right] My roommate, DK, and our friends from across the hall, Spencer and Aaron


 

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

-Dr. Seuss

 

Leave a Reply

