München

Last Friday I spent the day in Munich. My uncle Holger, who is a lawyer there, drove with me from Mühlstätt to a U-Bahn (subway) stop near his office. The drive is about 80 kilometers on narrow winding roads, and after driving to and from Munich almost every work day for the last 15 years, my uncle knows all of the short cuts! He dropped me off at the U-Bahn station, and I got a day pass for Munich city transportation. The first place I went was the Deutsche Museum, a huge museum for science and technology, quite fitting for an Iowa State student now that I think about it. There were too many exhibits to look through in just one day, but here are a couple of interesting things I found there:

 

IMG_0290

There was an odd looking bicycle that is sculpture made by Victor Sonna, and it turned out to have an important message. Here’s its caption:

“In the end, our society will be defined not only by what we create,

but by what we refuse to destroy.

I draw lines throughout the city while riding my bicycle.

These lines are neither straight nor angular.

Likewise, people move in unique ways, both physically and mentally.

The movement itself, that meandering line,

is often not a smooth ride at all.

We are increasingly inclined to trim down damages,

Holes and obstacles in our lives.

By contrast, it is my intention to leave these ‘faults’

or ‘failures’ in my work, both structurally and formally.”

 

IMG_0275

The second interesting thing I found was in the exhibit on ships and submarines. There was a table with several tiny model ships called, “the small world of big ships.” On this table are some famous ships built on a 1:1250 scale along with the two ships and submarine that are actually in the museum. In the picture, you have to look closely but the tiny sail boat on the museum map is the boat in the background’s model.

IMG_0276

This is a tiny model ship that needs a magnifying lens in order to see the intricate details.

IMG_0293

There were several paintings of Satellite images of the earth’s surface. This specific one is of an airport in Saudi Arabia.

I spent most of my day looking around in the Deutsche Museum, but later in the afternoon I walked from the museum to the Altstadt (old town) center. There I climbed to the top of St. Peter’s church for an amazing view of Munich. I went into the Frauenkirche, another Cathedral in the Altstadt. Then I walked around some more and ended up at the Hofgarten where I watched people play bocce. After a great day in Munich, I took the U-bahn back to the same station I started my day at, and my uncle and I drove back to Mühlstätt.

IMG_0338

The view from St. Peter’s church of Marienplatz

IMG_0317

The Frauenkirche


On Monday, I’ll be moving into my dorm in Salzburg for the official beginning of my semester abroad.

Leave a Reply

